Driver Education Provider
Application Fact Sheet

Eisenhower Legacy Transportation Program
Driver Education Reimbursement Grant

THE EISENHOWER LEGACY
TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM

Purpose:

The Kansas Department of Transportation’s (KDOT) Eisenhower Legacy
Transportation Program (ELTP) established a pilot Driver Education Reimbursement
Grant program beginning in state Fiscal Year 2020-2021. The intent of the program is to
provide financial assistance to driver's education programs to help individuals who may
otherwise not have been able to participate.

Driver education courses are intended to assist new drivers gain real life experience and
classroom education time. These courses and educators provide experience and teach
best practices by offering the basics of traffic laws, traffic signs and defensive driving
strategies. The intended result of the program is to put better educated and more
experienced drivers on our Kansas roads.

How It Works:

The driver education provider will receive reimbursement of actual program enroliment
fees up to $200 per eligible student following completion of the program and submission
of KDOT’s Qualification Voucher & Reimbursement Request (to be provided later). All
fees and costs above the $200 are strictly between the driver education provider and the
individual student. Providers are required to eliminate the enroliment fee by the lesser of
either the cost of the course or $200 for each eligible student.

NOTE: Commercial Driver’s License, Defensive Driving and Motorcycle
training are NOT eligible under this program.

Eligible Students:

The purpose of the ELTP is to provide reimbursement grants of up to $200 for qualified
individuals to aid in offsetting the cost of attending a driver education program. Interested
student participants should contact their driver education program instructor for additional
details.

A qualified individual must meet all the following requirements:

a) is a student who demonstrates a financial need with a household income not
exceeding 200 percent above the federal poverty level,



b) is between 14 and 29 years of age and a legal resident of the State of Kansas,
¢) has not had their driving privilege suspended, revoked or restricted,

d) can obtain a Certificate of Completion signed by the Certified Driver Education
Instructor as defined by the Kansas Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles.

Eligible Providers:

The driver education provider shall maintain compliance with KSDE Driver Education
Administrative Guidelines K.A.R. 91-5-3 through 91-5-14
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Career-Standards-and-

Assessment-Services/Content-Area-A-E/Driver-Education or Commercial Driver

Training Schools State Regulations K.A.R. 91-7-1 through 91-7-14.

*To be eligible for reimbursement, the Driver Education Provider must:

v
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Provide either a driver education program, which is approved by KSDE Driver
Education and by K.A.R. 91- 5-1 through K.A.R. 91-5-14; or provide a commercial
driver training school “Class C only” licensed in compliance with State Regulations
K.A.R. 91-7-1 through K.A.R. 91-7-15,

All programs must certify all students listed meet the guidelines for the qualified
individual (the Driver Education Program is responsible for verifying the information
provided by the student is correct and valid),

All programs must maintain records relating to eligible students who have
completed driver education for a period of five years in case of audit by KDOT or
its designee.

Please remember for purposes of this grant:

(0]

An example of school year 2024-2025 includes Fall semester 2024, Spring
semester 2025, and Summer semester 2025

An application must be submitted every school year

The grant contract must be finalized by both parties (driver education provider and
KDOT) prior to the driver education course beginning

Only ONLINE Grant (Enrollment) Applications and Reimbursement Applications
will be accepted

When completing the Reimbursement Application for “# of eligible students”, this
number is the number of grant eligible students that completed the course and not
the total number of students in the course

APPLICATION DEADLINE
To apply for an upcoming school year, Grant Applications must be submitted in April.

For example,

o For school year 2024-2025 applications must be submitted in April 2024
o For school year 2025-2026 applications must be submitted in April 2025


https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Career-Standards-and-Assessment-Services/Content-Area-A-E/Driver-Education
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/Career-Standards-and-Assessment-Services/Content-Area-A-E/Driver-Education

