
Kansas Escort Vehicles – Frequently Asked Questions 
 

1. Where do I go to get my certification? 

Go to www.K-TRIPS.COM   

At the log-in page, select Create New Account. Register vehicle and driver information. A 
separate window will open to enter driver information. There is a link at the bottom of the new 
window to print the certification form.  

2. Is my certificate from another state valid in Kansas? 

Each driver still needs to be registered in Kansas through an escort vehicle service provider 
and print the certificate. If they have successfully completed a training course from one of the 
states Kansas accepts, they can use that state’s certificate information on their Kansas 
certificate.  

3. . From which states will Kansas accept Escort Vehicle Operator training certification? 

Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, and 
Washington 

4. How do I find escort vehicle driver training courses from states that Kansas accepts?  

Do an internet search for one of the accepted states’ training courses.  

5. Is there a ‘grace period’ for registering? 

Not under Kansas statutes. Although Kansas’ escort vehicle regulations are still being 
reviewed, it is best to treat them as in effect.  

6. How do I know if my registration is complete?  

When your vehicle(s) are entered into K-TRIPS; your escort vehicle operator(s) are entered 
into K-TRIPS; and you have the printed certificate.  

7. Is there cost to register?  

There is no cost to register the escort vehicle service provider, the escort vehicles or the escort 
vehicle operators. 

8. Are route surveys required? 

Yes. Escort vehicle operators must survey the route.  

9. Where do I get the trip report form? 

Currently, you can obtain the trip report form from the K-TRIPS homepage/login page, before 
logging into the system. 

10. Where can I find the new rules and regulations? 

The proposed escort vehicle rules and regulations are currently located online on the K-TRIPS 
homepage/login page. 

http://www.k-trips.com/


11. What do we do about flagger certification?   

If the Escort Vehicle Training Course that you took from one of Kansas accepted states 
included a section on flagging that is consistent with the MUTCD, you are trained and certified.  
Kansas does offer a short video for escort vehicle operators to watch.  Please visit 
www.ksdot.org/hwycont.asp to view the video under “Highway Flagger Information” and review 
the handbook. 

12. How often do I have to register? 

Annually.  However, vehicle registrations, driver’s licenses, and escort vehicle driver 
certifications may expire periodically throughout the year. The K-TRIPS account user is 
responsible for keeping this information current. 

13. How does a 300-foot travel distance provide sufficient time and space for a lead escort 
vehicle to notify and stop a permitted load? 

We have had several calls regarding the lead distance for the front escort vehicle as specified 
in the proposed escort vehicle regulations.  It was set at 300 feet which was a carryover from 
the existing regulations.  After further consideration, we are changing the proposed 
regulations.  Below is what we are revising within the proposed regulations.   

 When traveling within city limits, the EV immediately preceding the load shall not travel 
more than 500 feet to the front of the load. When traveling outside of city limits, the EV 
immediately preceding the load shall not travel more than 1,000 feet to the front of the load.  

 The EV immediately following the load shall not travel more than 500 feet to the rear of the 
load.  

 Visibility; temporary conditions. The load shall be visible to the EV’s immediately preceding 
and following the load at all times unless temporary conditions, including curves with limited 
visibility, steep grades, upcoming bridges and overhead obstructions, and intersections 
requiring traffic-control operations, temporarily dictate a greater lead or follow distance than 
specified in this subsection. 
   

 

http://www.ksdot.org/hwycont.asp

